Humour Self-Help & Psychology Books

The Sparrow (The Returned Series)

In Jason Mott’s haunting and unforgettable debut novel, The Returned, an impossible miracle is occurring all across the globe.This is Part 2 in the exciting and much anticipated prequels to Jason Mott’s The Returned.Praise for Jason Mott–‘With fine craftsmanship and a deep understanding of the human condition, Jason Mott has woven a tale that is in turns tragic and humorous and terrifying’ – Eowyn Ivey, Author of The Snow Child –‘Fantastically readable’ – The Times–‘Could be the next Lovely Bones’ – Entertainment Weekly–‘Fantastically readable’ – The Times–‘Gripping’ – Shortlist–'Mott tackles some big themes here, especially the vagaries of spirituality, and scores with one of the most emotionally resonant works in many seasons' – Essence Magazine–'It will…make you question what it means to be human and what you'd do in a similar situation' – The Sun–'Get in early before the hype begins' – Star Magazine–'The Returned transforms a brilliant premise into an extraordinary and beautifully realized novel. My spine is still shivering from the memory of this haunting story. Wow.' -Douglas Preston, #1 bestselling author of The Monster of FlorenceThis is the beginning of the ReturnedPart 1 – The FirstPart 2 – The SparrowPart 3 – The ChoiceThe Returned

Suds and Sam

Humor, Heat, Action and Sass..."What the heck are you doing here? I could've killed you!" "Sugar, I strolled on up, whistling. I figured you couldn't miss me."A dick in Manhattan? You've got to be kidding me.Don't get me wrong. I respect she's got plenty of attitude. I especially hold her Uncle Vinny, a mob boss, in high esteem. Both he and her police-chief father explain how I should book my own funeral if I mess with her. Not much for authority, I thank them for their concern. However, she's mine and I plan on keeping her. When she goes missing, at first I figure she's miffed. Yeah, I may not always take her career as seriously as she'd like. But hey, didn't I help her solve the missing-cat-caper? That should count for something, right? When she doesn't answer my texts, I check with her family and my stupid heart stops. Where the hell is she? Suds and Sam will make you laugh and yet keep you turning one more page all night long.Grab your copy now. Note: Beware of healthy, passionate, panty-melting scenes. No cliffhangers. Happy ending guaranteed.

Drop

Could there be an unconscious awareness of the primitive self? Is there an unknown dark side of a personality, perhaps incubated within a shadow of a dormant lair in the mind? Is it hidden, or buried, beneath every diverse fear and insecurity waiting to be found? DROP is a humorously dark fiction that explores the unchartered abyss within the subconscious. While being a philosophical and psychological journey into the heart of madness and evil, it also merges the frantic ramblings of a confused narrator who questions his every conscious projection as either paranoia, or worse, reality. In the grip of a powerful hallucinogen the narrator begins to question his own sanity, along with that of everyone else's around him. Over time he begins to feel the tug of something nefarious clawing through from somewhere deep within; or perhaps calling him into the unknown to stay. Whatever it is, it seems to be manifesting itself through his peers only adding to the struggle inside himself. He tells the story in a perplexed and paranoid manner that draws the reader in to keep them guessing at what is real, and what is mere delusion. DROP creates a maze of psychotic hilarity and desperate madness that leads to an unforgettable ending.Humor, bizarre prophecies, a macabre urban legend, and a philosophical tour of evil are ingredients stirred into this maniacal plot. It is a throwback telling with an all but forgotten style, garnishing a reverie of madness.

Bystander: A Dr Nancy Strong Novel (2)

Bystander is a darkly humorous campus novel in which the characters’ egotistical and competitive relationships are captured through the investigation of a murder. It should appeal to readers who enjoyed the sardonic radio dramas High Table, Lower Orders by Mark Tavener, and the classic novel The Masters by C. P. Snow, as well as readers of David Lodge and Malcolm Bradbury’s campus tales all of which highlighted the often pointless, but nonetheless intriguing, academic rivalries.But there is a mystery too!A student jumps to her death from a window in her hall of residence at Elmhurst University College. Soon after, the body of Madeline Jenkins, head of the Department of Applied Social and Criminal Sciences, is discovered. Both deaths are declared suicides but as the mystery unravels all the evidence points to murder. When Nancy Strong discovers some disturbing papers in an old filing cabinet, explanations have to change and she finds herself on the illusive trail of a psychopathic serial killer. But it looks as though the murderer is very near to home.This story of suicide, murder and academic ambition is the second case for Dr. Nancy Strong, the psychological profiler with particular expertise in understanding sociopaths. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Jo Spain, Alex Michaelides and Angela Marsons this gripping psychological thriller brings together deception, fear and dread all laced with dark humour with ironic twists.