Fiction Historical Books

The Red Flag

5 stars from Readers' FavoriteBLOOD SHALL SPILLCaptain Stephen Boswell sails under the red flag, a symbol of no mercy. It’s the only reason he has lived this long. The only reason the navy has not found him yet. But they are closing in. And if they catch him, they will execute him for piracy.Ten-year-old Alice Bradford doesn’t know why she is alive. When Captain Boswell found her hiding on his ship, she expected him to kill her, and it seemed his own crew had expected likewise. But now she is his prisoner and she fears that she will be forever. Somehow, though, it seems that the captain might be more afraid of the navy than she is of him. Something from his past has him ill at ease, Alice realizes. Even if the navy cannot bring him to his knees, his own paranoia will.A gripping, fast-paced story about one of the last pirates of the Golden Age of Piracy and his fight for survival.

The Caves of San Pietro

"The author vividly captures the harshness of Nazi rule and the bravery of the Allied soldiers dedicated to the liberation of Italy. An intriguing and earnest... war tale." –Kirkus ReviewsAfter he and his buddy survive the bloody landing on the beaches of Salerno, Frank Moster is more determined than ever to play a part in liberating his birth parents' homeland from the Nazi scourge. What he doesn't expect is that he'll become personally involved with an Italian family whose lives are being ravaged, first by the German occupation and now by the brutal fighting and deadly bombings on the heels of the Allied invasion - or that, for the second time in his life, he'll come face to face with the heartache and trauma of being orphaned at a very young age.When all three of these forces collide at the Battle of San Pietro, lives will be changed forever and unbreakable bonds will be forged between families half a world apart.

The Importance of Being Earnest

Oscar Wilde's madcap farce about mistaken identities, secret engagements, and lovers entanglements still delights readers more than a century after its 1895 publication and premiere performance. The rapid-fire wit and eccentric characters of The Importance of Being Earnest have made it a mainstay of the high school curriculum for decades.Cecily Cardew and Gwendolen Fairfax are both in love with the same mythical suitor. Jack Worthing has wooed Gwendolen as Ernest while Algernon has also posed as Ernest to win the heart of Jack's ward, Cecily. When all four arrive at Jack's country home on the same weekend the "rivals" to fight for Ernest's undivided attention and the "Ernests" to claim their beloveds pandemonium breaks loose. Only a senile nursemaid and an old, discarded hand-bag can save the day!

Death on the Marais (Inspector Lucas Rocco Book 1)

FULLY REVISED NEW EDITIONDanger and intrigue follow him wherever he goes.France, 1963. It's a time of great change, not least for Inspector Lucas Rocco. As part of a nationwide initiative to broaden police operations, he finds himself moved from the Paris metropolis to a small village.His new patch might be rural, but it's certainly not uneventful: on his first day, he finds a murdered woman wearing a Gestapo uniform, lying in a British military cemetery.When the body is removed by order of a magistrate from the police mortuary before Rocco can finish his investigation, he realises he's up against a formidable enemy. An enemy who will go to any lengths – even murder – to stop his investigation.A pulse-pounding historical crime thriller, perfect for fans of Martin Walker, Maigret and Mark Billingham.

The Bookseller and the Earl (The Merry Misfits of Bath Book 1)

Miss Addie Mallory is finished with the husband hunt. After six London Seasons as a wallflower, she convinces her parents that she should be allowed to use her dowry to buy a bookstore in Bath where she can live her life the way she wants. Lord Grayson, Earl of Berkshire, has never gotten over his deceased wife’s betrayal with his own brother. He plans to make his life all about his son, Michael, who is deaf. When Grayson’s sister-in-law serves him with court papers declaring Michael incompetent with the intention of having her own son named as Grayson’s rightful heir, he turns to Addie, a dyslexic bookstore owner, for help. Addie takes a personal interest in helping the boy. However, as time passes, Grayson and Addie’s joint venture to keep Michael from being declared incompetent leads to feelings and desires neither one of them expected. Or necessarily wanted. *****The Merry Misfits of Bath is a brand-new Regency romance series from USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton. Each standalone story features a heroine who doesn't quite fit in but who finally finds her happy ever after with a hero who sees her through the eyes of love.Three women turn their backs on London and the husband hunt and take up residency in thelovely town of Bath.Miss Adeline Mallory, who has suffered from dyslexia her whole life, convinces her parents thatmarriage is simply not in her future and to release her dowry to her so she can open a bookstore.Miss Charlotte Danvers escapes the reputation her mother built as the most expensive courtesanin London and supports herself by teaching young ladies all the finer points of the ton who willnever accept her as one of their own.Lady Pamela Manning cannot get through an entire sentence without stuttering. But she singslike an angel. She’s happy with her new life as a music teacher, even if most of her students haveno ear for music.They come together as friends and title themselves The Merry Misfits of Bath. But thequestion lingers: How long will they remain misfits?

The Age of Innocence

«The Age of Innocence» tells the story of a forthcoming society wedding, and the threat to the happy couple from the appearance in their midst of an exotic and beautiful femme fatale, a cousin of the bride. Newland Archer is a distinguished lawyer looking forward to his marriage to shy, lovely, sheltered May Welland. But when he meets Countess Ellen Olenska, scandalously separated from her European husband, a Polish count, he falls hopelessly in love and blights his marriage to May by failing to break off his relationship with the countess. Meanwhile, in a typical Wharton twist, Newland Archer's bride may be timid, but she is determined to marry her fiance and uses all the power of New York society to bring him to heel.

The Black Mountains (The Hillsbridge Sagas Book 1)

The captivating first instalment of the Hillsbridge Sagas, perfect for fans of Val Wood and Maggie HopeThe Hall family live under the brooding shadow of the Black Mountains, in the mining town of Hillsbridge. Charlotte, James and their seven children are independent spirits, united by strong family values.Living in a mining community is never easy, and when the shadow of impending war threatens, they must pull together to face the hardship to come. Can this close-knit family overcome whatever tragedy life throws at them?The Black Mountains, a moving saga of love, happiness and heartbreak, is perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Katie Flynn.‘Sensitive and exceptionally polished’ Manchester Evening NewsThe Hillsbridge SagasThe Black MountainsThe Emerald ValleyThe Hills and the ValleyA Family Affair

Small Great Joys: Resilient Hearts Historical Romances Book 1

Not fallen. Not broken. Not whole.It is 1880, Nebraska.All Angel wants is to go someplace where no one knows her name or—more importantly—what happened to her. However, Angel’s plans are disrupted when she becomes stranded in an unfamiliar town. With no means to leave and no place to stay, Angel finds aid in an unexpected place: Nathan, a childhood acquaintance with scars of his own.All Nathan wants is to leave every memory of his father far, far behind. But when Nathan’s path leads him to Angel, he begins to realize that his father’s influence has reached further than he could ever have imagined.As Nathan and Angel face the prejudices of the townspeople together, their tenuous friendship begins to grow into something more. However, when Nathan’s father returns, Angel and Nathan must decide whether they are willing fight for the life they’ve created for themselves, or whether they will once again leave everything they love—including each other—behind.Small Great Joys is the first book in the Resilient Hearts historical romance series.This novel was previously published as Angel.

Loving the Marquess (Landing a Lord Book 1)

When love seems impossible…She is on the verge of losing everything… To save her home and keep her two younger siblings safe, Louisa Evans must turn to the head of the family that ruined hers.He needs an heir…The Marquess of Overlea is starting to show signs of having inherited the same illness that killed his father and older brother. To prevent the marquisate from falling into the hands of an unscrupulous cousin, Overlea must secure an heir before that illness also claims him.But he is determined not to be the father of that heir…Overlea’s plan is simple—marry the practical, yet desperate, Miss Evans and hold Louisa to her promise to provide him with an heir. But he waits until after they are married to tell his wife that he intends to have another man father that heir. His careful plan becomes complicated by an almost desperate need to claim Louisa for himself and an outside threat that proves even more dangerous than his illness.

Genteel Secrets

An Unforgettable Civil War Adventure>>>What do a well-bred Southern Belle and a Northern working class Pinkerton detective have in common? Espionage . . . and romance.At the start of the U.S. Civil War, while young men begin dying on American battlefields and slavery is headed toward its end, behind the scenes, female undercover work and Pinkerton intelligence are alive and well.But in the end, can this unlikely Romeo and Juliet couple’s love survive, or will they be just another casualty of war?Scroll Up and Grab Your Copy Today!

Forever England

Naïve but determined, Captain Edward Eldridge refuses to ride out the war from the safety of headquarters and demands a post on the Belgian front line. Shocked by the futility of trench warfare, Edward regrets his fervent support for a war he no longer understands. Amid the brutal fighting, news from Dublin reveals a battle brewing much closer to home. After being saved from certain death by a man he once thought an enemy, he questions the rigid truths of the world he thought he knew. Meanwhile, from her post as a housekeeper for a prominent loyalist family, Nora Cullen and her circle of rebels quietly mobilize Dublin to fight for Irish freedom. As she races to uncover her employer’s own secret network, she learns of a deadly betrayal. Steeled by tragedy, Nora seeks a revenge that could cost her life when an unlikely ally befriends her and changes her course.