Fiction Historical Books

The Strange Journey of Alice Pendelbury

From international bestselling author Marc Levy comes a witty and beguiling novel of one woman’s unexpected journey to follow her destiny.Alice Pendelbury believes everything in her life is pretty much in order—from her good friends to her burgeoning career. But even Alice has to admit it’s been an odd week. Not only has her belligerent neighbor, Mr. Daldry, suddenly become a surprisingly agreeable confidant, but he’s encouraging her to take seriously the fortune-teller who told her that only by traveling to Turkey can Alice meet the most important person in her life.What’s more, the peculiarly insistent Mr. Daldry has even agreed to finance Alice’s trip—one that against all reason seems to be predestined. It’s on this journey, crazy from the outset and strangely irresistible, that Alice will find out that nothing in her life is real, that her past is not true, and that the six people she’s about to encounter will shape her future in ways she could never have dreamed.Revised edition: Previously published as L’étrange voyage de Monsieur Daldry, this edition of The Strange Journey of Alice Pendelbury includes editorial revisions.

The King's Coat (The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures Book 1)

His exploits echo with the bustle of crowded ports and the crash of naval warfare…It is 1780 and seventeen-year-old Alan Lewrie is a brash young libertine with a head full of dreams. When he is found in bed with the wrong woman, he is forced to leave his profligacy behind for a new life at sea.Though sickness and hard labour await him aboard the tall-masted Ariadne, Lewrie finds himself gradually adapting to the world of a midshipman.But as he heads for the war-torn Americas into a hail of cannonballs, will he ever catch wind of the plot brewing against him back at home?The first Alan Lewrie novel, this action-packed naval adventure is perfect for fans of Patrick O’Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. ForesterPraise for The King's Coat‘You could get addicted to this series. Easily.’ New York Times Book Review‘The best naval series since C. S. Forester . . . Recommended.’ Library Journal‘Fast-moving. . . A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing. Wonderful stuff.’ Kirkus Reviews

The Book of Ruin

Winner of the 2020 IndieReader Discovery Award for Science FictionGenerations after solar storms sent the world spiraling into a Second Dark Age, descendants of American soldiers defend the last NATO stronghold in Germania. From the Asiatic Steppes comes the mysterious Vucari. NATO sends Senior Chief Loveboy Weir and a team of rangers to investigate. Traveling in anti-gravity vessels, they visit the beautiful city-state of New Reykjavik and mountains where Kazaks use giant eagles to hunt enemies. The rangers also journey to the City of Ghost that spews poison and to a floating monastery where monks protect the Book of Ruin. They also encounter Vladimir the Resurrected, the Vucari’s warrior prince, who claims to want peace but decimates any population that resists him. Weir struggles to convince NATO not to trust Vladimir. While politicians and clerics make backroom deals to appease Vladimir, Weir prepares for a war he fears is coming...

Northanger Abbey

During an eventful season at Bath, young, naïve Catherine Morland experiences the joys of fashionable society for the first time. She is delighted with her new acquaintances: flirtatious Isabella, who shares Catherine's love of Gothic romance and horror, and sophisticated Henry and Eleanor Tilney, who invite her to their father's mysterious house, Northanger Abbey. There, her imagination influenced by novels of sensation and intrigue, Catherine imagines terrible crimes committed by General Tilney. With its broad comedy and irrepressible heroine, this is the most youthful and and optimistic of Jane Austen's works.

The Good Knight (The Gareth & Gwen Medieval Mysteries Book 1)

Join Gareth & Gwen in their first mystery together ... murder, intrigue, and romance in medieval Wales!Five years after Gareth walked away from Gwen in disgrace, she encounters him in the aftermath of an ambush, standing over the body of a murdered king. Although it isn't exactly the reunion Gwen had dreamed of, she and Gareth join forces against the treachery and intrigue rife within the court of Gwynedd.And once blame for the murder falls on Gareth himself, Gwen must continue her search for the truth alone, finding unlikely allies in foreign lands, and ultimately uncovering a conspiracy that will shake the foundations of Wales.Complete Series reading order: The Good Knight, The Uninvited Guest, The Fourth Horseman, The Fallen Princess, The Unlikely Spy, The Lost Brother, The Renegade Merchant, The Unexpected Ally, The Worthy Soldier, The Favored Son, The Viking Prince, The Irish Bride, The Prince's Man. Also The Bard's Daughter (prequel novella).

Freedom Pledge: Adventures of a Victorian Soldier

Outmanned, outclassed, outgunned. Can this Anglo-Irish soldier overcome his past to save his comrades?Crimean shores, 1854. Young Lieutenant Samuel Kingston is eager to prove himself in combat. But when a traitor fiendishly sets him and his handful of Lancers adrift at sea, he fears death is inevitable when the raging waters sweep them behind enemy lines. And when he discovers the Russians have fortified their position, he must somehow warn the British cavalry before they charge to their doom.Crossing the forbidding landscape, Kingston and his men struggle to elude Cossacks and bandits alike. And just when they think they’re in the clear, they find an even greater threat blocking their path.Can Kingston and his ragtag company beat the odds to prevent a massacre?Freedom Pledge is a standalone prequel in the thrilling Adventures of a Victorian Soldier military historical fiction series. If you like intrigue, Nineteenth-Century conflict, and thoughtful meditations on social class then you’ll love M.J. Twomey’s action-packed tale.

The Red Hill (Thomas Berrington Historical Mystery Book 1)

1482: Granada, AndaluciaWhen death comes to the Alhambra palace a hero is needed … but did they pick the right man?A demand is made of Englishman and physician Thomas Berrington – to investigate a series of deaths, each displaying the marks of a savage attack. At first reluctant he is drawn deeper into the investigation when one of the Sultan's wives is brutally murdered. Teaming up with the eunuch Jorge the pair pursue the killer before another victim is chosen. As the investigation continues they discover nothing is as it seems and nobody can be trusted. Al-Hamra, the palace perched atop the red hill, holds its secrets close. As the truth starts to be uncovered their discoveries culminate in a battle not only for their own lives, but for the lives of those they love.For anyone who likes breakneck pacing, medieval murder mystery, and complex characters the Red Hill delivers a rewarding read.

Enchanting the Earl: Rebel Lords of London

From award winning author, Kathy L Wheeler, a sexy regency prequel to The Earl's Error. Having a London Season is not all it’s cracked up to be, as Lady Lorelei quickly finds when attending her first ball. The lights are too hot, the corsets too tight. It’s enough to make one faint.Thorne Gray, the earl of Kimpton, has no interest in debutantes, but what the devil is he supposed to do when one swoons at his feet? Catches her before she hits the floor, of course. An intriguing performance to be sure.But a scheming and powerful aunt, determined to see her niece settled before her death, threatens Lorelei’s opportunity to enchant the man of her choosing. Praise for Rebel Lords of LondonEnchanting the Earl"A Regency romance that makes you want more!" ~ author Kara O’NealThe Earl's Error"Sexy and exciting: Kathy L Wheeler tops smouldering romance with an intriguing mystery." ~Miranda Neville, Best Selling Author The Marquis's Misstep"Quick pacing, funny dialogue, and charming characters make Kathy L Wheeler's books a must-read!" ~Double Rita Finalist, Amanda McCabeThe 7th Son"7th Son is both gripping and delightful. A hero and heroine to root for. Twists and turns perfect for mystery lovers. A setting pure bliss for lovers of romance. And finding long-lost diaries to break a family curse, made for the perfect read." Sharon Sala - author of - THE LAST STRAW“Expect a fast-paced ride in this captivating tale, written in Kathy L Wheeler’s bold, dynamic style. Intrigue, love, scandal and curses — what more could any reader want? You'll stay riveted until the very last page!” Author Jude Bayton - The Secret of Mowbray Manor"Who can resist a romance between a cursed artist and an art critic with a tragic past? ? I was hooked from the enticing beginning to the satisfying end. Kathy L Wheeler has created a compelling story with a mysterious journal, sizzling passion and characters that come alive. Rich in setting and emotion, 7th Son takes readers on a twisty, tantalizing ride. ~ Author Alicia DeanThe Viscount's Vendetta"Edgy, fast-paced, sexy, is Kathy L Wheeler's latest Rebel Lord of London." ~USA Today and New York Times Bestselling author, Cheryl Bolen