Poetry, Drama & Criticism History & Criticism Books

English Fairy Tales (Everyman's Library Children's Classics)

Edition Everyman's Library Children's Classics, First Impression, 1993. Contains complete texts from the early publications in 1890 and 1894, with illustrations by John Batten. ISBN: 1-85715-917-9. HARDBACK. 430 pages, size: 16.3 x 21 x 2.8 cm. Just light tan to paper edges. Other than that, the unread book remains in excellent condition throughout. Text all clean, neat and tight. Prompt dispatch from UK.

Oscar Wilde: The Complete Collection [contains links to free audiobooks] (The Picture Of Dorian Gray + Lady Windermere’s Fan + The Importance of Being ... + Lord Arthur Savile’s Crime and many mor

This ebook contains all of Oscar Wilde's plays (including the fragments), his only novel, his fairy tales and short stories, the poems, all of his essays, lectures, reviews, and other newspaper articles, based on the 1909 edition of his works.

It also links to FREE AUDIOBOOKS that can be downloaded to your device!

For easier navigation, there are tables of contents for each section and one for the whole volume. At the end of each text there are links bringing you back to the respective contents tables. I have also added an alphabetical index for the poems and a combined one for all the essays, lectures, articles, and reviews.

Contents:

THE PLAYS.

Vera or the Nihilists, The Duchess of Padua, Lady Windermere's Fan, A Woman of No Importance, An Ideal Husband, The Importance of Being Earnest, Salome (the French original and Bosie's translation, and the fragments of La Sainte Courtisane and A Florentine Tragedy.

THE NOVEL.

The Picture of Dorian Gray.

THE STORIES.

All the stories and tales from The Happy Prince and Other Tales, Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories (incl. The Portrait of Mr. W.H.), and A House of Pomegranates.

THE POEMS.

The Collected Poems of O.W.

THE ESSAYS etc.

The four essays from 'Intentions', The Soul of Man under Socialism, De Profundis (the unabridged version!), The Rise of Historical Criticism, the lectures (The English Renaissance in Art, House Decoration, Art and the Handicraftsman, Lecture to Art Students)

Routledge's Manual of Etiquette

The Wonderful Adventures of Nils

In this classic Swedish folk tale, Nils is shrunk to a tiny size by a dwarf, and carried across Sweden by a flock of wild geese.

The Aeon 14 Reading Guide: Where to begin your journey or go next in the Aeon 14 Universe

It's dangerous to go alone! Take this.

The Aeon 14 Universe is vast, with many eras, books, and stories. To help you navigate these troubled waters, we give you the Reading Guide. Even better than a towel, this guide will give you a reading order and provide information about the various eras and their series.

Follow the main Tanis storyline and learn the best places to branch off on the side quests. Or, if you joined in on a branching storyline, find out the best place to pick up the main tale.

This guide was last updated on August 30, 2017.

About M. D. Cooper & Aeon 14

M. D. Cooper is a New York Times bestselling author who has envisioned a rich future for humanity, one where planet-sized megastructures house trillions of humans, but traveling between the stars still takes decades, or even centuries.

Fans of Ringworld, Honor Harrington, The Expanse, or Elizabeth Moon's Vatta's War will feel right at home in the world of Aeon 14.

Over the course of the next few years, M. D. Cooper plans to release an additional twenty-two books in this expanding universe. So get on board the Intrepid with Tanis and see what the stars hold for us.

What is Aeon 14?

The universe of Aeon 14 is based on the premise that advanced, intelligent, starfaring life takes 14 billion years to evolve. In astronomy an aeon is a billion years. In Aeon 14, humanity is at the leading edge of this evolution in the Milky Way Galaxy.

Humanity and the AIs they have created spread out amongst the stars and find that they are alone, though it may not always be that way...

Self Help

Tom Brown's School Days

Margherita's Recipes: Free Recipes from Daniela Sacerdoti's Bestselling Novel, Set Me Free

Fresh from Nonna Ghita's Notebook, Margherita's Recipes is a charming little book of recipes which feature in Daniela Sacerdoti's new bestseller Set Me Free . Recipes include Tortine di mele (Apple Tarts), Paste di meliga (Meliga biscuits), Amareti Biscuits, and many more. There's also a free taster of Set Me Free for those that want to delve further into Margherita's story. Daniela Sacerdoti is the Bestselling author of Watch Over Me and Take Me Home . Set Me Free is the latest novel to be set in Glen Avich. Margherita's marriage is slowly falling apart. Getting pregnant after trying for so long may have been a fabulous surprise for her, but for her husband it was the last straw. When she needs him most, her husband is just not there for her or their children and she realises that they need time apart to figure out where their marriage is going. As she struggles to come to terms with her new life, Margherita decides to leave London and spend the summer in Glen Avich, where her mum and stepdad have just opened a new coffee shop. She needs time away to reconnect with her daughter Lara and sort out her life. But Glen Avich can have a strange effect on people, and when she and Lara start working for Torcuil Ramsay at a rundown local estate, everything begins to change. Margherita finds her heart awakened in a way she never thought possible and Lara begins a new friendship with a mysterious local boy, Mal, which makes her mother feel increasingly uneasy. And just when Margherita is finally beginning to discover who she really is, she finds out quickly how things can change and how hard it can be to make brave choices.

Catherine De Medici

This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers. You may find it for free on the web. Purchase of the Kindle edition includes wireless delivery.

L'Assommoir

This collection of literature attempts to compile many of the classic works that have stood the test of time and offer them at a reduced, affordable price, in an attractive volume so that everyone can enjoy them.

How To Live On 24 Hours A Day

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work.As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.

The Cossacks

A House to Let

Father Goriot

Frankenstein and the Critics

With like many great works of art, 'Frankenstein' was initially misunderstood. The first reviews were decidedly mixed. An anonymous review in The Literary Panorama and National Register published June 1 1818 dismissed Shelley's work as 'a feeble imitation of one that was very popular in its day.' Other periodicals were kinder. Writing in Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine on 20 March 1818, Walter Scott praised the unusual Gothic Romance as a "tale, though wild in incident, is written in plain and forcible English, without exhibiting that mixture of hyperbolical Germanisms with which tales of wonder are usually told." 'Frankenstein and the Critics' presents a selection of the most prominent reviews from the time of Frankenstein's publication. Also included is Mary Shelley's uncensored 1818 text often labeled 'Frankenstein 1818' presented in its unabridged entirety. This is the original, 1818 text. In 1831, the more traditionally first "popular" edition in one volume appeared.

The Story of the Treasure Seekers

The Life of Captain James Cook

The Regent

The Theory of Social Revolutions

Witch and other stories

Fragments of Ancient Poetry

Celtic Religion in Pre-Christian Times

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work.As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.

Old Christmas

Scenes From a Courtesan's Life

The Story of Ireland

Jorrocks' Jaunts and Jollities

Utopia

Creativity: The Actor in Performance

Creativity: the Actor in Performance focuses on becoming a creative performer. Many stage-actors succeed in rehearsals, yet under-perform where it counts - on stage. However, as actors know, performance is a thing unto itself - something that will happen out there, beyond anything that had happened in rehearsals. This book provides actors, their teachers and directors with insights into the creativity of the actor in performance.

Ghosts

Celebrate the Classics: Why You Can and Should Read the Great Books (Xist Classics)

Celebrate the Classics is a short look at what makes a great book, why we should read classic literature, and how to go about reading and celebrating these book. Whether you're a teacher hoping to inspire students to love the classics or simply a curious mind looking to understand the great literature that has shaped the foundations of our society, this book will give you concrete tips for reading and enjoying classic literature. This free guide has been made available to help people discover a love of reading classic books.