Crime, Thrillers & Mystery Legal Books

Where There's Smoke: Charlie Walden's First Case (Walden of Bermondsey)

Meet Judge Charlie Walden in the first case of six from the novel, Walden of Bermondsey

If you like Rumpole of the Bailey, you'll love Walden of Bermondsey

When Charlie Walden took on the job of Resident Judge of the Bermondsey Crown Court, he was hoping for a quiet life. But he soon finds himself struggling to keep the peace between three feisty fellow judges who have very different views about how to do their job, and about how Charlie should do his.

And as if that's not enough, there's the endless battle against the 'Grey Smoothies', the humourless grey-suited civil servants who seem determined to drown Charlie in paperwork and strip the court of its last vestiges of civilisation.

No hope of a quiet life then for Charlie, and there are times when his real job - trying the challenging criminal cases that come before him - actually seems like light relief.

Praise for Walden of Bermondsey

'No one writes with more wit, warmth and insight about the law and its practitioners than Peter Murphy. He has no equal since the great John 'Rumpole' Mortimer' - David Ambrose

'Though his exasperation is sometimes palpable, what triumphs over everything is his sense of humour. And it is the humour that makes Walden of Bermondsey such a delightful read. Think of him as what Rumpole would be like if he ever became a judge, and you get some idea of his self-deprecating wit and indomitable stoicism. Add a dash of Henry Cecil for his situation and AP Herbert for the fun he has with the law, and you get a sense of Peter's literary precedents' - Paul Magrath

The Retainer

The Retainer is an intriguing tale of betrayal, blackmail and lust set in 1970s London when life was more innocent - or was it?

It's 1972 and Geoff Wilkinson, a Watford solicitor, leads a mundane life. Still living with his mother and working for a measly wage he feels trapped in a life that he never wanted to lead, that is until Jack Shepherd walked into his office. Shepherd, a rogue, a pro of the criminal underworld, offers Geoff ?1000 to become his retainer. In Shepherd he sees a glimpse of the freedom he craves which is compacted when he runs across his childhood friend, Tom, a pot dealing hippy that resides on a barge. Geoff finds himself questioning his life. Feeling unsettled and confused, he receives a 2am phone call and is summoned to Aylesbury police station on Jack Shepherd's behalf.

"He was impressed by the unruffled calm of the man and his apparent mastery of the situation. A professional indeed."

Geoff suddenly finds himself not only trapped in his profession, but by Jack Shepherd. Guilty of taking dirty money and lying to the police, Geoff finds his life and business now at the mercy of Jack Shepherd. Geoff finds himself sliding deeper and deeper into the darkness of the criminal underworld.

"Now thanks to his own stupidity, he had slipped into a worse position of not just familiarity but downright criminality."

Can Geoff Wilkinson, a man who has spent his career upholding the law and looking down on those of his profession that fall into the criminal classes, survive the trap that his own naivety and rash actions have created for himself?

The Innocent: A Coroner Jenny Cooper Crime Short

An exclusive free edition of this gripping short crime story featuring Coroner Jenny Cooper, from the double CWA Gold Dagger shortlisted author of The Coroner.

When Coroner Jenny Cooper crashes her car one bright September morning, she finds her mind propelled back to the past . . .

Ten years ago Jenny Cooper, a burned out family lawyer, finds herself embroiled in the most difficult of cases when a fourteen year old girl in her care is killed, falling under a train. It seems both the girl's family and the authorities are determined to prove Jenny responsible. But what is the real truth behind Natasha's tragic death?

A gripping, moving short court-room drama, perfect for fans of Lynda La Plante, Patricia Cornwell, Kathy Reichs, Peter James and Denise Mina, The Innocent is a fantastic introduction to M. R. Hall's Coroner Jenny Cooper crime series.

Praise for M. R. Hall's Coroner Jenny Cooper series:

'Fasten your seatbelts for a quality thriller . . . Hall's Gold Dagger-nominated books, quite simply, get better each time...wonderful stuff, chillingly plausible' Independent on Sunday

'An edge-of-the-seat thriller' Irish Independent

'Ed McBain semi-inaugurated the forensics genre, but Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs parleyed his innovations into stratospheric sales. But the field has not become an exclusively female sorority - or an American domain. A highly talented male writer has offered a challenge...' Independent

'It's a terrific series, meticulously researched, sharply plotted and peopled with sympathetic characters, led by Cooper, who is always aware of the human consequences of failure' Financial Times

'A hypnotic piece of work' Barry Forshaw, Independent Best Books for Christmas feature

'Hall shows with aplomb that a coroner is just as able to become a detective as the forensic pathologists of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs' Sunday Times

'Intelligent and intricate, and grips from the beginning to end' Woman & Home

'An excellent and compelling detective drama' Daily Mail

'This big, well-executed debut novel by screenwriter and producer MR Hall has meaty characters and a chewy plot in the Lynda La Plante style' The Guardian

'A brilliant, original and gripping crime novel - I can't wait for MR Hall's next one!' Sophie Hannah

Guilt by Association

Jayson Cook is reaping the rewards of a flourishing law practice in Boston. However, his comfortable life is turned upside down after he agrees to represent Brian Stone, a white supremacist charged with planting a bomb that destroyed an inner city church, killing a twelve-year-old black girl.

Jayson believes an ethical lawyer provides his client with a vigorous defense no matter the crime, and Brian Stone is no exception. His efforts to free Stone garner strong opposition not only from a highly successful prosecutor and the local black community, but even from his own wife. Adding to his problems, a young, seductive woman from his past returns to capitalize on an error in judgment he made years before; an error if made public, could cost him his license to practice law and his family.

Lawyer for the Little Guy

Trial is a month away and closing fast on young lawyer, Jake Beck. The scumbag who ripped off his client for one million dollars will get what's coming to him if Jake has anything to do about it. It's a tough case when your client is fair and decent and the defendant is hard and mean. And when he's a lawyer. And the brother of your client. Jake's first trial has him facing impossible odds and great obstacles. But the underdog wins some of the time, right? Jake's wisecracking boss, the judge for his case, and even his client have their doubts. Still, it's not all legal work and no play when Jake falls for a hot, brainy blonde and she introduces him to her "adopted" Greek family. Maddy is an eco-minded Santa Cruz, California girl right down to her electric car, organic diet, and yoga classes. The Greeks enjoy life, laugh often, and cook up a storm. Jake embraces their love and support during the darkest times in his pursuit of justice for the little guy.

In order to meet your expectations for a pleasurable reading experience, and the author's own standards, this novel was professionally edited and proof-read. It was also professionally converted to the Kindle ebook format.

A Game of Proof: Volume 1 (The Trials of Sarah Newby)

A mother's worst nightmare - can her son be guilty of murder? Sarah Newby, who left school at 15, and was living as a teenage single parent on an inner-city estate, has worked her way up to begin a career as a criminal barrister. But what should she do when her own son, Simon, is arrested and charged with a series of brutal rapes and murders? Has Sarah, in her single-minded determination to create a career for herself, neglected her son so much that she no longer knows him? He has often lied to her in the past, so how can she trust him when he says he is innocent this time? And what should she do when she herself uncovers evidence that seems to suggest his guilt?

Utopia

Utopia is a work of fiction and political philosophy by Thomas More (1478-1535) published in 1516 in Latin. The book is a frame narrative primarily depicting a fictional island society and its religious, social and political customs.