Crime, Thrillers & Mystery Legal Books

The Advocate: Volume 1

For Sabre Orin Brown, life is good; she has it all...or would have, if only she could solve the mysterious disappearance of her brother. The search for her brother and her career as a juvenile court attorney collide when she defends a nine-year-old whose father will go to any length to obtain custody. Sabre finds herself immersed in a case with too many unanswered questions. Her quest for the truth takes her coast to coast and five years into the past. Confronted with mysterious clues and strange occurrences, Sabre is threatened by someone wanting to make her suffer the unbearable anguish of losing everything-including her life. As Sabre's passion to find the answers intensifies, she discovers a twisted history of desperation, deceit, and revenge. And she discovers how obscure and treacherous the truth can be.

The Innocent: A Coroner Jenny Cooper Crime Short

An exclusive free edition of this gripping short crime story featuring Coroner Jenny Cooper, from the double CWA Gold Dagger shortlisted author of The Coroner.

When Coroner Jenny Cooper crashes her car one bright September morning, she finds her mind propelled back to the past . . .

Ten years ago Jenny Cooper, a burned out family lawyer, finds herself embroiled in the most difficult of cases when a fourteen year old girl in her care is killed, falling under a train. It seems both the girl's family and the authorities are determined to prove Jenny responsible. But what is the real truth behind Natasha's tragic death?

A gripping, moving short court-room drama, perfect for fans of Lynda La Plante, Patricia Cornwell, Kathy Reichs, Peter James and Denise Mina, The Innocent is a fantastic introduction to M. R. Hall's Coroner Jenny Cooper crime series.

Praise for M. R. Hall's Coroner Jenny Cooper series:

'Fasten your seatbelts for a quality thriller . . . Hall's Gold Dagger-nominated books, quite simply, get better each time...wonderful stuff, chillingly plausible' Independent on Sunday

'An edge-of-the-seat thriller' Irish Independent

'Ed McBain semi-inaugurated the forensics genre, but Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs parleyed his innovations into stratospheric sales. But the field has not become an exclusively female sorority - or an American domain. A highly talented male writer has offered a challenge...' Independent

'It's a terrific series, meticulously researched, sharply plotted and peopled with sympathetic characters, led by Cooper, who is always aware of the human consequences of failure' Financial Times

'A hypnotic piece of work' Barry Forshaw, Independent Best Books for Christmas feature

'Hall shows with aplomb that a coroner is just as able to become a detective as the forensic pathologists of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs' Sunday Times

'Intelligent and intricate, and grips from the beginning to end' Woman & Home

'An excellent and compelling detective drama' Daily Mail

'This big, well-executed debut novel by screenwriter and producer MR Hall has meaty characters and a chewy plot in the Lynda La Plante style' The Guardian

'A brilliant, original and gripping crime novel - I can't wait for MR Hall's next one!' Sophie Hannah

The Diane Capri Series Reading Order Checklist: The Hunt for Jack Reacher Series Thrillers, Jess Kimball Thrillers, Judge Willa Carson Mysteries, Jenny Lane Thrillers, Jordan Fox Thrillers

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Diane Capri has sold more than a million books featuring various series characters. This complete bibliography contains all English Language Diane Capri fiction. It is a checklist for readers who want to make sure they don't miss a book or want to read in order.

It also includes links to all of Diane Capri's ebooks.

The Retainer

The Retainer is an intriguing tale of betrayal, blackmail and lust set in 1970s London when life was more innocent - or was it?

It's 1972 and Geoff Wilkinson, a Watford solicitor, leads a mundane life. Still living with his mother and working for a measly wage he feels trapped in a life that he never wanted to lead, that is until Jack Shepherd walked into his office. Shepherd, a rogue, a pro of the criminal underworld, offers Geoff ?1000 to become his retainer. In Shepherd he sees a glimpse of the freedom he craves which is compacted when he runs across his childhood friend, Tom, a pot dealing hippy that resides on a barge. Geoff finds himself questioning his life. Feeling unsettled and confused, he receives a 2am phone call and is summoned to Aylesbury police station on Jack Shepherd's behalf.

"He was impressed by the unruffled calm of the man and his apparent mastery of the situation. A professional indeed."

Geoff suddenly finds himself not only trapped in his profession, but by Jack Shepherd. Guilty of taking dirty money and lying to the police, Geoff finds his life and business now at the mercy of Jack Shepherd. Geoff finds himself sliding deeper and deeper into the darkness of the criminal underworld.

"Now thanks to his own stupidity, he had slipped into a worse position of not just familiarity but downright criminality."

Can Geoff Wilkinson, a man who has spent his career upholding the law and looking down on those of his profession that fall into the criminal classes, survive the trap that his own naivety and rash actions have created for himself?


Everything to Lose

[ Everything to Lose Gross, Andrew ( Author ) ] { Hardcover } 2014

A Game of Proof: Volume 1 (The Trials of Sarah Newby)

A mother's worst nightmare - can her son be guilty of murder? Sarah Newby, who left school at 15, and was living as a teenage single parent on an inner-city estate, has worked her way up to begin a career as a criminal barrister. But what should she do when her own son, Simon, is arrested and charged with a series of brutal rapes and murders? Has Sarah, in her single-minded determination to create a career for herself, neglected her son so much that she no longer knows him? He has often lied to her in the past, so how can she trust him when he says he is innocent this time? And what should she do when she herself uncovers evidence that seems to suggest his guilt?

Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

Wrongful Death This fictitious courtroom drama exposes the government lies and incompetence, gross medical malpractice, and unbridled greed by a drug company that caused the American AIDS epidemic and cost 300,000 lives in just ten years. Full description

A New Dawn

The Depths of Winter

Emily Robertson takes the case of a woman seeking a divorce from her husband. However things are not as they seem as lies and deception take Emily and her partner Margaret on a wild trip through the world of show business and the mafia.

Covert Affairs

In this Special Limited Edition duet, you'll meet two bold young women, lives derailed by destiny, determined to find justice.

False Truth, by award winning NYT and USA Today Bestselling author Diane Capri, rookie TV reporter Jordan Fox gets only one chance to stop the killers who murdered her mother before they return to finish what they started.

Spy Girl, by USA Today Bestselling author Jillian Dodd, Huntley Bond is removed from Spy Academy and tasked with her first mission: protect the Prince of a sovereign country and hone her spy craft skills to exact revenge on her mother's assassin.